Tags

, , , ,

Annyeong!

Why am I greeting you in Korean? Well, simply because I’ve really been getting into K-Pop music these days. Can’t get it out of my head. Good stuff.

I thought I would write today, which I apologise for not doing in who knows how long!!! Sorry!!! Joesonghabnida!!! But you all know me, if I have nothing to say, I don’t write. Silly me, right?

But a while back I saw a Yahoo article about a little boy crying over the song ‘Say Something’ by A Great Big World feat. Christina Aguillera. Now if anybody has ever heard this song which I am sure a lot of you have it is probably the saddest song EVER or at least a ten among tens on a scale of one to ten.

I mean, you just have to be hurting like hell to put those lyrics and that melody together. The video though, of the little boy that is, reminded me of when I was little. I was about his age actually and the song that moved me to tears whenever I heard it (which is also a ten on a scale of one to ten by the way) was ‘Hero’ by Mariah Carey or ‘Ma-wy-ah’ as my little brother would call her. I wonder if he remembers what a crush he had on her back then?

Anyway, when I saw the video with little Jackson, tearing up over the song and read how people were marveling and doubting as to his level of profoundness it reminded me of that and I had to wonder. I am telling you, it is more than possible for a child that age and even earlier as shown by another clip I found with a mother singing to her baby to feel the power of emotion in music. Where there is lack in the understanding of the lyrics, the power of melody and the way the lyrics are sung can still reach someone as I am seeing listening to K-POP right now where the majority of the time, I know not what they say! But I can feel it.

And I have always been a fan of music that is not in my native (english, english-creole) tongue. Ever since I was little because it was apart of my country’s culture in the Caribbean and we grow up singing Spanish during Christmas, Miriam Makeba and African/Creole folk songs for Emancipation Day and hearing Hindi for Divali. No matter what ethnicity you are here the culture is all the same to everyone. So, I learned a long time ago that you don’t need to understand what the lyrics in a song means to ‘feel’ the meaning in it.

And I believe that is what this little boy was feeling when he listened to it and the interpretation of what he felt (when asked by mum and dad why he cries when he hears it) as and I quote: “The song says ‘I can’t get to you’ and it makes me sad that you and mommy won’t get to me when I’m crying.”

Awwwww. That’s raw emotion for yuh! And as his daddy says, you can’t teach that!

It was one of the earliest memories of my life, listening to the song Hero and only when I hear it, which I haven’t in years, does the feeling come back to me in this wave of memory. So let me see if I can remember the meaning I took from it because I swear I did not understand the actual lyrics then either. Wheys! Can’t remember the lyrics now…

I remember waiting for my mother to come home from work and the song came on the radio and I just missed her so much when I heard it and felt the same way if ever I heard it again after that. My older sisters were all, “Why are you crying?’ and I was all, ‘I miss mummy *sniff*’ and they were all like, ‘awwww’. I suppose I equated her absence with the song and the hope to see her again. 

And when you feel like hope is gone, look inside you and be strong.” Aha! I remember that part! That must have been the line that killed me!

So I have no trouble believing that Jackson really does feel this song, to his core, no matter the meaning he takes from it. Here are the videos for your viewing pleasure.

Jackson

Say Something – A Great Big World feat. C. Aguillera

Extra: Mom sings, baby gets emotional

And because I haven’t heard it in ages! Ma-wy-ah Carey’s Hero! ….. *sniff* I am NOT crying!

I swear…

download

– Written by Travesaou

Copyright © 2010 Critics May Lie All Rights Reserved

